

1801 Rockville Pike, Suite 400 | Rockville, MD 20852-5622 Telephone: +1.240.221.2950 | Fax: +1.240.221.0370 www.arvofoundation.org

Dr. David L. Epstein Award

This award honors David L. Epstein, MD, who is widely considered to be one of the most influential leaders in the world of glaucoma and glaucoma research over the past 40 years. The award is given annually to a well-established, senior investigator with a documented history of conducting eye and vision research in glaucoma and mentoring clinician-scientists to independent academic and research careers. The first award of \$100,000 was presented at the 2016 Annual Meeting.

Past Recipients

2020 Jeffrey Goldberg, MD, PhD

Mentee: Julie Cho, MD, PhD

Byers Eye Institute at Stanford University

Functional effects of therapeutics for neuroprotection and regeneration in a model of

glaucoma

2019 Harry A. Quigley, MD, FARVO

Mentee: Thomas V. Johnson, MD, PhD

Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Stem cell transplantation for RGC replacement and optic nerve regeneration

2018 Janey Wiggs, MD, PhD, FARVO

Mentee: Ryan Collantes, MD

Harvard Medical School

Genetics of childhood glaucoma in the Philippines: genetic testing, gene discovery and

implications for treatment

2017 David Huang, MD, PhD, FARVO

Mentee: Liang Liu, MD

Oregon Health & Science University

Structural OCT and OCT angiography to diagnose and monitor glaucoma progression

Jonathan G. Crowston, MBBS, FRCOphth, FRANZCO, PhD

Mentee: Peter van Wijngaarden, MD, PhD, FRANZCO

University of Melbourne, Centre for Eye Research Australia

Energy supply in glaucoma: the role of oligodendrocyte-mediated lactate transport in

maintaining the integrity of ganglion cell axons in the optic nerve

